Jump to page
DreamensioN
  • DreamensioN
  • ITS FUN
  • Contributing Member!
  • Member No.: 4,938
Post #1 post 3rd July 2008 - 08:32 PM
Hey guys,
Recently I got my R class motorcycle license, and I've been toying with the idea of buying a motorbike. Because I'm new to riding (on the road), I've been thinking about getting a 650cc V-Twin (like the Suzuki SV650SA or the parallel twin Kawasaki ER-6F).

So naturally I've been keeping my eye open for a 2nd hand example. Its my first bike, I'll probably come off it or drop it...so why spend all that good coin on a brand new bike?

Anyway...as I've been looking, I've noticed the 2nd hand models aren't that much cheaper than a brand new one. According to the Kawa & Suzuki websites, the bikes I'm looking at can be hand brand new for around $10k. Good 2nd hand ones look to be around $7-$8k.

So here I am thinking, wouldn't it just be better to spend the extra $1500-$2000 to get a brand new bike, with warranty, no kilometers, and everything is nice and shiny.

I see a lot of bikes with (what I would call) "low kilomoters". Now...I only call these "low kilometers" because I'm comparing it to a car. Bikes that have like 15,000, 20,000, even 40,000km on the clock. If it were a car, it would practically be brand new.

So my question is - in motorcyle terms, what are a low and high amount of kilometers? (eg. if a car had 400,000km on the clock, you can expect it to be a pos). What is the equivilant for bikes?

And what are your thoughts on buying 2nd hand, vs paying a little extra and getting a brand new bike?

--------------------
Need free trance albums? Get them @ DreamensioN .NET

Tracks: http://soundcloud.com/dreamension

Doin' it for the love of dance music....

HEI57
Post #2